Lesson Learned

Life is rough. I don’t mean right this second rough, although it feels like it. I mean, it’s always got twists and turns that throw you for a loop and leave you wondering if you made the right decision or not.

Let me tell you this story…

Bob and I are planning a “wedding”. We’re getting sealed for Time and All Eternity in the Rexburg, Idaho LDS Temple soon, and since we eloped for our wedding, we want to party it up for the sealing. That means food, games, and decorations. If we’re paying this much to have a great party, I want to have it documented. That means, photographer!

Being a photographer myself, that comes with the territory of being picky. Very picky. Once I finally find someone I like and they get the approval of the hubster, we’re all in. No holds barred. Do or die. Eggs are in the basket. And we found the perfect one.

So why am I awake at 2 a.m. looking at photographers websites and price quotes tonight? Because life threw us a curve ball. A very unfortunate curve ball.

This is definitely not the worst thing in the world. I’m not hoping or expecting sympathy or understanding. Just hear me out for a couple of minutes. I’m learning things about myself and about life in this situation, and it might be relevant to someone in the future.

When I got the text from our photographer that she wants to go to her sister’s 18th birthday party on the day of our sealing and will not be able to be our photographer, at first I was calm. That quickly turned to sadness and then anger. (P.S. Throwing phones is not acceptable adult behavior) I was angry that she would leave us hanging with less than a month to go before we need her services all for a birthday party that doesn’t have social significance like a 16th or 21st birthday party might. Why in the world would she do this to us?? I still get angry when I look at that text. “I have a family event to be at.” “I seriously had no idea.”

I still don’t understand WHY a birthday out of state is more important than work. But that’s not what I’m trying to get at either.

Life is going to do this to us whether we like it or not. What other people choose to do can affect us a little bit or a lot. It’s going to suck sometimes. It may be the end of something amazing. But it’s always going to work out. Maybe not the way we planned, but it will.

I know this because it’s not the first time I’ve had hardships to work through in my life. I’m sure you’ve had some too. I’m still alive, and happier than I was many years ago. Clearly all those difficulties worked out if I’m happy. My life has definitely not been what I imagined it would be. (I had too good of an imagination while growing up.) This new bump in the road is definitely not what I imagined it would be. But it will all work out.

If you’re still doubting that it will all work out, please read/listen to this talk from last October: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2015/10/yielding-our-hearts-to-god?lang=eng. Sister Marriot definitely has reason to feel like it won’t work out, and yet it has for her.

As for me, I will be more careful in making decisions. I will ask more questions and be more prepared to have photographers fall through. I will learn from this unfortunate situation and I will put my trust in the Lord for the rest. He is the reason I can be okay with waiting for things to work out in the end. He is my support during these trials. He is the one who is always rooting for me no matter what. And He is the one who will do whatever it takes to help me have everlasting happiness.

 

If I need more reason to push through and stay afloat during times of trial, this adorable sweetie is the reason.

FB_IMG_1464969779854

Daisy, 2 months old

Yes, I’m a doting fur-mama to this sweet Boxer puppy, Daisy. She’s our smart little princess and she will always be my first baby.

IMG_0248

Daisy, 4 months old

 

Leave a Reply

